Not The Times Square, but…The India Square!

india square

Finding a place here in New Jersey where there is Indian food in not one restaurant but many restaurants? Where there is a lot to choose from and possibly play eenie-meenie- miny-moe? Then Edison is the city to go to! Edison and Iselin are right next to each other which is why Oak Tree Road and the India Square is in both cities. Like most people, I too have heard of or have been to the New York Times Square, but when my parents first took me Edison and I read the street sign, “The India Square,” I was thrilled! I felt like I was in the streets of India again, in the market as I saw how many different kinds of stores there were and how close they were. Instead of the big screens being very close to one another and right on top of each other as in the Times Square, there are stores and restaurants. There are individual stores or combined that sell jewelry, clothing, sweets, food (snacks, meals, buffets vegetarian and non-vegetarian), and drinks. Some stores are even for repairs, phone services, money exchange/transfer, passport services…etc.

At first I was surprised when recently a new Dunkin Donuts opened there but then I thought it’s true that “America runs on Dunkin,” the American Indian I am, I only like their coffee. So I was actually thankful for there being something different now and for it being Dunkin where people can grab some coffee and do some shopping or digest the food they just ate!

Without a doubt, the Indian Square feels like home where there is a high feeling of belonging whether there are people of different religions, everyone is still part of the country, India. I believe when it was first created there were a lot of Indians, but now as the years have passed and as the city/place has become more known (usually the first to pop up on google when searching for all kinds of Indian services in NJ), there are people of other races, ethnicities that are also seen there for shopping, eating and everything! I feel very happy when I see people from other countries because it shows how they appreciate us, our hostility, trust, respect and are willingly to share what we do, eat, wear…etc.

 

Ok! So now let’s talk about what this blog is about…..the FOOD! Based on my experiences, here are two restaurants I have been to, both overall are decent and worth going to! So definitely try them out!

Rasoi

This restaurant also has a bar on one side which is why people tend to have parties there for special occasions. The first time I went was for a dinner with my cousin who came to visit from Maryland with her family, husband, daughters and mother-in-law and whenever they come over, they always go to Oak Tree Road to do some grocery shopping and to eat. Which is what happened that day too, since we went later in the evening and it was close to dinner time, we decided to go to Rasoi. We chose the restaurant based on the experience people we knew had which was mostly decent and satisfying. My family again vegetarian and so was the younger one, my niece and the rest non-veg. We didn’t order snacks considering the late time so we ordered the main course:

The total/bill was reasonable, $60.00.    

Rating on Google: 3.5/5

My Rating: 4/5

Address: 1567 Oak Tree Road, Iselin, NJ 08830

Phone: (732) 549-8817

Moghul Restaurant

This restaurant does not have a bar, because it has more space to fit big and small tables for joint families, small families and couples. The first time I went was for my mom’s friend’s, my “aunt’s” marriage anniversary dinner, there was the eight of us which is why her son made a reservation beforehand. The place is usually busy and sometimes there are multiple people celebrating special events so the place gets packed, causing waiting time, lines for the people that walk-in. First the waiter asked us for snacks and we ordered:

Then we ordered the main course (only my aunt’s son, father and daughter ate non-veg out of all of us so they ate those dishes while the rest of us ate our vegetarian food):

 

Without a doubt, everything- the snacks, main course, drinks was delicious which is why I was surprised why the rating on Google was not that high, until we got the bill…the food is mouth watering, finger licking but the prices are not! The bill roughly came out to $150.00-$200.00! We felt the courtesy to at least pay half of the bill since my aunt and her family brought us out with them to celebrate for their special day, and so my dad quickly paid even though my uncle and aunt tried to stop him. I would go to this restaurant only for such special occasions because it is so expensive, not randomly for just a dinner or snack. Unless I go with my friends as a group where everyone is willing to pitch in some money, then I can consider going, though still not that often. I don’t work anymore so I only have the money saved from working before or my parent’s money. 

Rating on Google: 3.6/5

My Rating: 4.8/5

Address: 1655 Oak Tree Road, Edison, NJ 08820

Phone: (732) 549-5050

It’s very nice and convenient to have places close by where there is Indian food available because sometimes you need a break from cooking and just go out to eat where everything is being served and you can just sit back and enjoy! I’m very thankful for living close to the Indian Square, Edison where we usually go after two weeks for grocery shopping and sometimes eat from there! Or sometimes we go for special family lunch or dinners since we live only 10-15 minutes away. Try these places or even others at the India Square and let me know how it goes!

6 thoughts on “Not The Times Square, but…The India Square!

  1. The Rasoi and Moghul restaurants both sounds amazing. I’m glad you’ve found a place that gives you a sense of inclusion like the India Square. That place sounds very interesting and the food sounds incredible. I really like how you took the time to rate the different elements of each restaurant. However, what I enjoyed even more about this post is the pride you displayed in your culture. I shines through every word you write on this post. Thanks for sharing. Looking forward to reading more next week.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Title was creative and the pictures look amazing and overall this was a informative blog which is helpful. You tell us the ratings and how you differentiate the restaurants was nice. Look forward to your blog and more mouth-watering pictures!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. This was a really cool post…I liked how you talked about the general area and then your experience at different restaurants. after reading this, I definitely think I’ll be checking this area out next time i’m looking for good Indian food.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I actually live very VERY close to here! I drive down this road multiple times a week when I’m home. I have only been to a restaurant in this square once. Forgot the name, but it was not either of the two you have mentioned. These two restaurants do sound really good though and I might grab a few friends to come out with me the next time I go home!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. My dad lives in Edison and I had no idea this even existed! I definitely need to go and eat at one of these restaurants, the food looks delicious. I love learning about Indian culture and The India Square sounds like a fun place full of culture and is also very accessible.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment