There’s A Whole Lot More!

indian-food

So as I mentioned in my last post that I like to try new things, specifically new dishes whether it’s still Indian food or not. My dad and younger brother still sometimes get iffy about the other Indian dishes besides Punjabi that my mom and I make at home, but when they eat them, they forget everything and can’t stop chewing! It’s so funny! For people that love eating, love food like my dad, can eat almost anything and everything! They complain first, eat and then complain again! Thanks to my mom, we don’t always eat and cook Punjabi food, but other Hindu and Gujarati dishes too.

The main meals are sometimes a little difficult to make because of the recipes and because usually there are other, specific pots, vessels and utensils needed. So without making things too complicated, my mom and I make these two dishes at home which can be eaten for breakfast and or for after lunch/evening snacks with or without tea.

1) Poha  (also called/can be called Kanda Poha- flattened rice)

This dish is an important part of the Indian states, Maharashtra (capital is Mumbai) and Madhya Pradesh (abbreviated as MP, located at the very center of India- Madhya means center). So Poha is a dish that most Hindu Indians tend to eat, but others eat as well. We found out about this dish from my aunt who lives in town and is always trying new recipes at home. She works with some Hindu and Gujarati Indians which is why and how she gradually learned about this and other dishes. She tried them there at work because her colleagues would bring them for lunch and then she started making them at home with the help of the internet. When we tried her Poha, it was very delicious, (people that like rice will like this too like my aunt and I) and then she taught my mom. So now my mom and I make Poha at home and it only takes 20 minutes, max 30 minutes! By the way, this tastes best when it’s made, nice and hot because the next day when you try to reheat it, it is okay but not as good (can tell from my experience).

ingredients and recipe: https://www.thespruce.com/poha-flattened-rice-1957769

 

2) Dhokla (also called Khaman Dhokla)

This dish originates from the Indian state of Gujarat. This is another dish that was introduced to my mom and I from my same aunt. This unlike Poha tastes best when it’s warm-cold, not too hot or too cold. Dhokla tastes very good alone or some people like to eat it with some chutney on it (the green- mildly spiced or the brown-sweet one). This dish has its own, unique taste where it isn’t sweet, but tastes like it is while having some salty/spicy taste but not at the same time. Only way to find out what you think and how you like it is by eating it!

ingredients and recipe: https://www.sanjeevkapoor.com/Recipe/Khaman-Dhokla-KhaanaKhazana.html

 

I absolutely love these dishes and always get so excited when my mom and I make these at home. Occasionally these are made at our town Gurudwara (Sikh Temple), occasionally because when families book and have their langar (community kitchen in the Gurudwara where free meals are cooked and served to all the visitors/people that come, always vegetarian) they can make whatever they want, usually something special such as Poha, Dhokla, pasta, different kinds of Pakore (fritters) and so much more! This is also why the community where I live love and enjoy going to the Gurudwara because: it’s very close, people get to pray/listen to hymns, meet other friends/family, do seva (serve others food/drinks, clean the dishes, help cook, clean/mop the floor after/at the end and there’s a lot more, always something to do), and eat all they want without anyone stopping them! People usually have their langar on one of the weekends since friends and families are off of school/work. Sometimes there is an Akhand Path (a three day prayer, so usually Friday morning to Sunday morning, where the priests pray from the Guru Granth Sahib-the holy book non-stop so there are usually 5-6 or even more priests that switch after 2-4 hours of praying). When there is this prayer, the food is available 24/7 for anyone that visits and for the priests, day and night.

These two dishes that I talked about are available at most of the previous restaurants, near campus and those at the India Square, Edison. You can always try making them, too! Trust me, it’s not hard or time consuming. Food is always good, so keep trying more and new dishes! Hope you like them!

7 thoughts on “There’s A Whole Lot More!

  1. I really liked how you added family dynamics relating to food in this post. I’m also glad you linked the recipes to the dished you talked about, however I think the discussion about food could have benefited from a little more description. When I saw the picture of the dhokla, it thought it was so cool looking but had no idea what it was based on your description and had to click on the recipe. Although it’s nice that you talk about what temperature it should be eaten at and whether it’s salty or sweet, some more general description just saying what it is would be helpful in my opinion.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. It was nice reading about different foods but so far its been all vegetarian. Maybe your next can be about the chicken tikka lol. But good post!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Great post, I honestly love Indian Food and it fascinates me to see the diversity and dedication the culture has with its food. Food is a lot more than fuel for the body, it becomes something that brings a family together and allows for new cultures to indulge.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I really enjoy reading about all these different dishes. I have been exposed to food from many different cultures, but have never gotten such a good look into one culture. I’m really looking forward to trying the Dhokla!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I never realized how many different and diverse Indian foods there are out there. Dhokla looks so interesting, and I definitely never would have heard about it on my own so thank you for providing so many different foods that I have to try! I like how you talked about how you discovered the food too, it added a nice personal touch to the post. Looking forward to next week’s posts and learning more!!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. i’ve never had indian food, ever. However, after reading your blog i’m determined to finally give it a try! Both the Poja and Dhokla look incredible. You have a great way of implementing a family feel and a genuine warmth to your posts instead of just a glorified “recipe book”. Not only do i know what food to order now..but i also know where to go and find it! thanks for sharing!!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. I loved reading about this and learning. I definitely want to try some of these foods and I loved how you expressed that food means so many things. It is not just something to eat. Food brings families together and has memories attached to it. I loved reading about the different dishes and the visuals looked so tasty!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment