The Final Goodbye

Indian food vector logo set

punjabi food symbol 1

 

 

 

“My cookery shows, my food channel, my books, my website all are created with the aim to glorify the richness of our food culture and to keep alive the traditions of the Indian kitchen” — Sanjeev Kapoor (famous Indian chef)

It’s hard to believe that the time to say goodbye has come. I feel like this semester just started and now it is almost finals week! I did not realize I wrote 11 posts! It’s so sad this blog has come to its end because as much annoying it was sometimes since I did not know what to write about after the first few weeks, I still made it through and now it’s time to go. When I had trouble, I got ideas from my friends, family and experiences/moments to continue my blog and writing posts. I’m actually surprised at my work and how I was able to successfully do something I’ve done before. I took creative writing in high school as an elective where we had to write poems and stories, but this college class where it was creative writing with multimedia allowed me to do a whole lot more (just realized this was the title of one of my posts lol). I’m glad I was able to learn some cool, fun things we did where creative writing and technology were combined (this blog and the podcast, video project).

The journey of this blog started with my mission statement which was about me first explaining how Curry is very famous, but it is not the only Indian food out there. I have seen people ask if everything was Curry where they saw Indian food, which is what made me a little upset and gave me reason to write this blog. I know it is not their fault because they may not know the thousands of other kinds of Indian food and me being an Indian, I thought it was best I write about the Indian cuisine. I talked about nearly all of the main courses, snacks, drinks and desserts from all over India (North from where I am to the South) since I have eaten them. I mentioned the restaurants near Rutgers to where I have been, some Professor went to, and some others that I have heard of with all of their info (address, phone number, rating on Google and website) so my readers can try them.

5074346_stock-vector-curry-indian-spicy-food-icons-set

It was exciting when I was able to tie in some aspects of the Indian culture and my Sikh religion (“Welcome to Punjab” post, “Got a Sweet Tooth,” and some others where I gave some historical background of where they foods were from) I’m happy that I was able to relive my memories and tastes every time I wrote my posts and was able to share them with others. Even though I got hungry every week while writing my post (keep in mind, I always ate before writing). Looking and choosing the pictures made my mouth water a lot lol as it did to some of my readers/commenters and Professor haha. I’ve mentioned some non-vegetarian dishes but not that many since I am a vegetarian. Sometimes I included the nutrition facts for some of the dishes, not only did I like doing that because I was open to more facts/information, but also because I knew readers would like it, too specifically to help them in choosing certain foods over others. After all, who doesn’t want to eat healthy? As a vegetarian, I spoke about how I get my proteins, vitamins, and other nutrition.

indian foods

“The idea is to serve not only tasty but also wholesome and nutritious meals” — Sanjeev Kapoor

Going back to my posts, I saw that my sixth post, “There’s a Whole Lot More!” got the most comments with seven (I did not include the replies) which was about the Hindu and Gujarati dishes. The Hindu dish was Poha (flattened rice) and the Gujarati one was Dhokla, both were yellow. While my following post, seventh one “Some More South Indian Food!” got the fewest comments with two. This post was also on South Indian food but I particularly talked about Dosa (lentil and rice pancake or crepe) and some kinds of Dosas. I enjoyed and always looked forward to the comments because I got very excited when people told me that they had heard or ate some of the foods before! Other times, commenters would say which food/drink/dessert they would choose because of what they like since I always gave some background or descriptions about them. Thank you to Professor, commenters, and everyone else for helping me make this blog a success! Goodbye to this blog and Hello to something else that I still have to try, another new thing! I’m proud of who I am, what I am, and what I eat! Food is always good and always important! Keep eating! lol. Take care!

 

 

#IndianFood #TheIndianRasoiKitchen #ILoveFood

Leave a comment